WHAT IS THE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS FOR A UTAH WRONGFUL DEATH CASE?
Generally, Utah wrongful death claims have a 2 year statute of limitation. Meaning—you must file suit within 2 years or lose your ability to recover compensation for the wrongful death. But there are exceptions to the general 2 year rule. Don’t miss your deadline—hire an qualified Utah wrongful death attorney, the stakes are too high.
CAN THE UTAH WRONGFUL DEATH STATUTE EVER BE STAYED, OR TOLLED?
Stalling, or tolling a wrongful death statute is tricky business, ripe for mistakes. To be sure, don’t go into a wrongful death claim alone, without a qualified Utah personal injury attorney. Yes, being a minor, or suing the government are classic situations where a Utah wrongful death injury claim can have a longer or short statute of limitations.
See this article on how to select a Utah personal injury attorney. https://www.gunterinjurylaw.com/how-to-select-a-good-utah-personal-injury-attorney-what-to-look-for-what-questions-to-ask/
WHO CAN BRING A UTAH WRONGFUL DEATH ACTION?
In Utah, wrongful death claims are different, because the survivors, or heirs, can bring suit on behalf of deceased person. Here are some people who can bring an wrongful death claim in Utah:
The surviving wife or husband.
A surviving domestic partner
The deceased person’s children. This includes adoptive children.
There are other more selective circumstances where you should consult a qualified Utah wrongful death insurance claim attorney.
COMMON UTAH WRONGFUL DEATH CASES.
Car Crashes. Trucking accident. Boating accidents. Workplace accidents involving third parties.
Medical Malpractice. Product Liability Cases. Explosions. Mining accidents.