Effective 05/2020 Utah’s statute of limitations to bring Uninsured Motorist Coverage claims has changed from 3 years to 4 years. “UM” or Uninsured car claims are classically where someone doesn’t have insurance and hits you with their car.
What is an Uninsured Motorist Claim in Utah?
Example Rear-Ender with No Insurance. The car that rear-ended you in Provo, Utah has no car insurance. The at-fault driver is cited for no insurance. You now can’t work and you have a herniated disc in your neck. Technically you could sue the uninsured driver, but you would probable recover nothing. Your best choice to obtain compensation for your injuries to make an Uninsured Motorist Claim (“UM”) against your own car insurance.
Example Contact Hit and Run. You are rear-ended in Orem, Utah. The car who rear-ended you ran from the scene and you can’t find them. The police came and see that your car is damaged. You have a positive MRI indicating a lumbar herniation causing leg numbness. Your best insurance claim is to make a Utah Underinsured Motorist Claim against your own insurance company.
Example No-Contact Hit and Run. You are driving up Provo Canyon. The oncoming car weaves out of its lane into your lane. You swerve to avoid the collision, causing your car to rollover six times. You are seriously hurt. The at-fault car drives off, never to be found.
This is an example of a no-contact hit and run phantom driver. The evidence burden is clear and convincing, rather than by a preponderance of the evidence.
IF YOU HAVE BEEN IN A UTAH CAR ACCIDENT WHERE UNINSURED MOTORIST MAY BE A CLAIM, CONTACT UTAH CAR ACCIDENT ATTORNE JAKE GUNTER. FREE CONSULTATION (801) 3737-6345.
Don’t hire a general practice attorney for your Utah car accident claim.