QUESTION: I signed a settlement release for my Utah car accident insurance claim while I was still in the hospital. Can I now cancel the signed release?
ANSWER: Utah injury law under certain circumstances allows you to rescind an injury settlement release that you signed if it was signed within 15 days of the accident or while you are still in the hospital.
Utah Code Ann. 78B-5-812 (2018) is the key statute. It reads:
|(1)||Any release of liability or settlement agreement entered into within a period of 15 days from the date of an occurrence causing physical injury to any person, or entered into prior to the initial discharge of the person from any hospital or sanitarium in which the injured person is confined as a result of the injuries sustained in the occurrence, is voidable by the injured person, as provided in Sections 78B-5-812 through 78B-5-816.|