QUESTION: Can I still file a police report for my Utah car collision, even if it is days after the car accident?
Ideally you should immediately file a police report after the car collision. As soon as practicable. But sometimes you are hurt, or just don’t know what to do.
You absolutely can file a police report for a Utah car collision after the car accident happens. It is not best practice, but there is nothing legally wrong with it. In fact, most the time you are required to call the police or face criminal charges.
Utah Car Accident Attorney Jake Gunter commonly handles car accident cases against insurance companies. Call/TXT free consultation. If you have been in a Utah car accident call injury attorney Jake Gunter. Gunterinjurylaw.com. Provolawyers.com.
Here are some types of leaving the scene of an accident criminal charges:
Utah Code 41–6a–401. Accident involving property damage — Duties of driver, occupants and owner—Exchange of insurance/driver’s license information — Calling police mandatory — Penalties.
If you are in a car accident, or you think you have been in a car accident, you have to stop.
You have to exchange your insurance information with the other side and their passengers.
You have to call the police if the property damage is over $2,500.
Failure to exchange or if you leave the scene, is a Class B Misdemeanor. Up to 6 months jail.
Utah Code 41–6a–401.3. Accident involving injury and serious bodily injury — Stop at accident—Penalty
If you suspect physical injury you have to stay at the accident scene until police arrive.
Exchange information, insurance, registration and call the police.
Failure to remain at the scene involving a serious bodily injury is a 3rd degree felony. Mandatory $750 fine.
Failure to remain at the scene involving a physical injury is a Class A misdemeanor. Mandatory $750 fine.
Utah Code 41–6a–401.5. Accident involving death — Stop at accident—Penalty
Failure to remain at the scene involving death is a 3rd degree felony. Mandatory $750 fine.
Utah Code 41–6a–404. Accident reports — When confidential—Insurance policy information—Use as evidence—Penalty for false information